Cruelty Free Beauty – My Daily Skincare Picks!

Good afternoon you gorgeous bunch!

I hope you are all having a great week, despite the awful weather we seem to be having right now – what is going on out there? It’s supposed to be summer, and yesterday I had to take an umbrella and my winter coat to work? Anyway, today I wanted to share with you some of my favorite cruelty free and relatively purse friendly skin care picks that I have been using for the last month. They are all Leaping Bunny Approved, and best of all, they are (almost) all from local stores on the high street.

 

Waitrose Pure Skincare  – My new Favorites for taking the day off. 

3B57ED8600000578-4029296-image-a-76_1481644548049

Now before you yell out at me “Hollie Waitrose is NOT cheap” I’m not talking about food here, and you will be pleasantly surprised. Waitrose have a great skincare range available in store and it is all under £5 -YES you read that, all less than a fiver. I have bought from them so far, the Facial oil, Hot Cloth Cleanser and the Micellar Water and all three are so so great! They are a perfect collection for taking of my make up at the end of the day ensuring my skin is hydrated and ready for sleep. They don’t claim to give you younger looking skin or fight spots or anything like that, however if you want a nice, simple make up removing routine without spending a fortune that is also cruelty free I’d definitely give this all a go. I start with the Micellar water, then the Hot Cloth Cleanser, and finish with the Vitamin E oil.

These products are absolutely fantastic and range between £2.50 and £5 – an absolute bargain if you ask me. The best part? The entire range is fragrance free, cruelty free, vegan and everything is recyclable, ticking a lot of boxes that more expensive brands don’t even attempt.

What you’ll pay for the new Waitrose Pure range…

Hot Cloth Cleanser (150ml) £5

Comforting Serum (30ml) £5

Night Cream (50ml) £5

Body Butter (200ml) £4

Eye Cream (15ml) £4

Facial Oil (30ml) £5

Face Mask (2x15ml) £2

Lip Balm (15ml) £2

£30 for the lot. I mean, you can’t really argue with that.

Scrubs and Cleansers

Superdrug Own Brand skin care is another favorite of mine, and they do some great daily use face scrubs and washes which I have been using for months. Again, the entire range of bath, body and skin care at Superdrug is all Leaping Bunny approved, and they do a wide range depending on your skin type. I have been using the Vitamin E Scrub for ages and its gentle enough to use every day and effective enough to give you gorgeous smooth skin. I love love this stuff! Best part, it’s a whole £2.99 so cheap as anything too. My other favorite to use is the Sainsburys Tea Tree face wash when I’m having a bit of a bad skin day,  but because my skin is as temperamental as a three-year old, it can be a little drying. Again, all of Sainsburys products are leaping bunny approved.

Face Masks 

I LOVE  a mask. I try to use them at least once a week, and for me, The Body Shop does the best masks. I have a few different ones I like to switch between, my absolute favorites being the Seaweed and sea minerals oil balancing clay mask, which is great for getting any stubborn spots and oil out-of-the-way, especially good for when Aunt Flo decides to stop by because she makes me hella oily, the Amazonian Acai energizing Radiance Mask for when I just want to be pampered, and for overnight masks the Drops of Youth Sleep mask.

Now, I know some people will contest that the Body Shop are owned by Loreal, who do test on animals in places such as China, however the Body shop are are cruelty free, 100% vegetarian and Leaping Bunny certified and have been since 1997. When I reached out to them about this, they confirmed this stance for me and their commitment to keeping thier status regardless of the fact they have been bought by Loreal.

Face masks for me are the part of my skin care routine I spend the most money on. My face masks race from between £11 and “25, but they are so worth it.

Moisturizers, serums and treatments. 

So I use a couple of different treatments on my skin depending on its mood. Daily after cleansing, moisturizing and before primer, I use the Body Shop Tea Tree pore minimiser all over my face. I’ve been using it for years and it really does shrink the size of your pores down. It’s the only tea tree product I can use on the daily that doesn’t make my skin burn, others just don’t work well for me.

tea-tree-pore-minimiser-4-640x640

My favorite moisturizer right now is Yes To Balancing moisturizer, which I use morning and night after cleansing. It’s such a great light formula that doesn’t feel heavy or sticky, and just balances the oily areas and smooths the drier parts on my forehead.

10172082

For treatments and serums, I use the Body Shop Vitamin E overnight Serum every night before bed, and it just smooths my skin and makes it feel gorgeous in the morning. I’m not yet worried about fine lines or anything like that, but I do feel like this serum pumps up my skin a little. Hello youthful glow! My other favorite is the Tarte Maracuja oil which is absolutely dreamy, if a teensy bit more costly, but still cruelty free.

I love that supermarkets are bringing out their own good quality cruelty free skin care ranges, and it really does give me a good feel glow when you pick up a product and see it is leaping bunny certified AND wont break the bank! Going cruelty free really isn’t expensive and for every product you own that is made by a company that does test on animals, there are tonnes out there that don’t. All you have to do is look for the bunny on the label!

IMAG1096

So now, it’s over to you – whats your favorite drug store or supermarket or luxury skin care range that is Leaping Bunny approved? I hope that my readers who are making the switchover find this useful, and please let me know your top cruelty free picks!

Until next time,

Hx

 

Leave a Reply

